« back to overview

NEU NOW Returns with Fresh Talent

NEU NOW, the post-disciplinary art festival devoted to presenting the work of emerging artists returns to Amsterdam’s Westergasfabriek from 14–17 September 2017. For this year’s edition the international jury selected a fresh batch of exceptional artists graduating from art academies across Europe and beyond. During NEU NOW 2017 they will present their work and participate in a programme that is designed to empower emerging talents.

Empowering Exceptional Talent
NEU NOW is Amsterdam’s only art festival devoted to presenting emerging artists from all disciplines. As such, we encourage and promote the fluid character of the artistic disciplines and present a programme in which exhibitions, performances, workshops, screenings and artist talks converge to provide new perspectives. All activities are aimed at creating future opportunities and empowering the selected artists in making a living from the arts. To ensure the maximum impact of our programme, selected talents are recent graduates of one of the major higher arts education institutions & universities of the ELIA network.

Successful artists who participated in past editions include Sophie Dros (NL), Robert Glas (NL), Reber Dosky (NL), Nina Gantz (BE), Vika Eksta (LV), Darek Fortas (PL) and the International Gastronautical Society (CH).

A Rigorous Selection Process
The Call for Artists for NEU NOW 2017 closed with a record number of nominations. A jury of leading international arts professionals reviewed the submitted works to make their recommendations for selection. Each discipline is reviewed by three professionals from the field, resulting in a total of 16 jury members. The selection process is a rigorous one. Judging criteria for the submitted artworks include: an engagement with and a bold contribution to the leading practices in the international field of its discipline; that the work is likely to stimulate the interest of art professionals and audience alike; that it contributes to the presentation of a diverse range within the category.

The final selection is made by NEU NOW’s artistic directors Paula Crabtree (Vice Chancellor, Stockholm University of Arts, Sweden) and Anthony Dean (Dean of Cultural Engagement, University of Winchester, UK).

Building on a Rich Tradition
During the past eight editions NEU NOW has presented works of over 750 international talents from all disciplines and an array of international art schools. Since its founding in 2009 the event traveled to Vilnius, Tallinn, Nantes, Porto, Amsterdam and Glasgow. In 2015 we returned to Amsterdam, where we found a permanent home.

Participating Artists NEU NOW 2017


Rudolf Weiss
Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design Halle (DE)

Merel Bernhardt
Gerrit Rietveld Academie (NL)


Agnieszka Waszczeniuk
University of Fine Arts in Poznań (PL)

Noemi Valentiny
Tomas Bata University in Zlín (CZ)

Otto Banovits
Stockholm University of the Arts (SE)

Sebastian Mulder 
HKU University of the Arts Utrecht (NL)


Julie Rokseth & Andreas Rokseth
Codarts University for the Arts (NL)

Lester Arias Vizcuña
Amsterdam University of the Arts (NL)


Astrit Ismaili
Amsterdam University of the Arts (NL)

Emilie Gregersen, Naya Moll, Rebecka Berchtold, Riikka Laurilehto
The Danish National School of Performing Arts (DK)

Enis Turan
The Cologne University of Music (DE)

Franco Cortez
Oslo National Academy of the Arts (NO)

Sophie Erlandsson
University College of Arts, Crafts and Design (SE)

Yoanna Bilkman & Dan Robert Lahiani
Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance (IL)

Zehra Proch
Royal Academy of Fine Arts (BE)


David Lados
Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design (HU)

Didi Lehnhausen
Gerrit Rietveld Academie (NL)

Emma Roey
LUCA School of Arts (BE)

Ieva Grigelionyte
Iceland Academy of the Arts (IS)

Laurent Delom
Royal Academy of Fine Arts Antwerp (BE)

Lea-Nina Fischer
Bern University of the Arts (CH)

Park Hyo Jae
Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts (BE)

Roma Auskalnyte
University of the Arts Helsinki (FI)

Sára Erzsébet Timár
Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design (HU)

Stefanie Koemeda
University of Applied Arts Vienna (AT)

Victoria Grin
Ecole Cantonale d'Art du Valais (CH)